Effective from 27th November 2014, Electronic Travel Authorization (ETA) system will replace the Tourist Visa on Arrival (TVoA) scheme which was launched first on January 1st, 2010. Initially launched to offer the facility of visa on arrival for the citizens of 5 countries, the ETA scheme is now made available to citizens of 43 countries. The ETA facility for a tourist visas on arrival in India may be availed no more than twice in a calendar year.
Electronic Travel Authorization for India Tourist Visa on Arrival
India Tourist Visa on Arrival is now enabled with ETA

Who Can Apply for Tourist Visa on Arrival enabled with ETA Scheme

The countries included in the new tourist visa on arrival enabled with electronic travel authorization scheme include Australia, Brazil, Cambodia, Cook Islands, Djibouti, Federated States of Micronesia, Fiji, Finland, Germany, Indonesia, Israel, Japan, Jordan, Kenya, Kingdom of Tongo, Laos, Luxembourg, Mauritius, Mexico, Myanmar, New Zealand, Niue, Norway, Oman, Palestine, Papua & New Guinea, Philippines, Republic of Kiribati, Republic of Korea (i.e. South Korea), Republic of Marshall Islands, Republic of Nauru, Republic of Palau, Russia, Samoa, Singapore, Solomon Islands, Thailand, Tuvalu, UAE, Ukraine, USA, Vietnam, and Vanuatu.
The ETA scheme is not applicable to the citizens of the above-mentioned countries if their parents or grandparents were born or lived in Pakistan. The visa procedure will remain the same for them.
The citizens of the above-listed countries could now apply online for a tourist visa on arrival for travel to India and get the same online. The visa thus applied for and if granted will entitle the foreign nationals to enter India anytime within 30 days of the authorization of TVoA. The electronic travel authorization, which will be in the form of an email received by the tourist from the Indian authorities, will entitle the prospective tourist to a 30-day stay in India.

How to Apply for Tourist Visa on Arrival ETA Scheme

With the ETA scheme for tourist visa on arrival, the prospective foreign tourist can now apply for an Indian visa online from his/her home country without having to go to the Indian mission to apply for the same. The online process requires foreign tourists to enter their travel details. They will also be required to upload their recent passport size photograph on a white background that meets the specifications listed on the official website. Along with the application, the photo page of the passport (which needs to be valid for at least 6 months) shows the personal details of the visitors.

How much will ETA Cost

The tourist visa on arrival applied for via ETA scheme will cost US$60. This fee is to be paid online through credit or debit card. The visa fee must be paid 4 days prior to the expected date of travel of the foreign visitor.

Which Airports in India will Authorize Electronic Travel Authorization (ETA)

The nine international airports will authorize this visa which the applicant will receive through email within 5 days of the approval of the visa application. At the airport, authorities will stamp the printout of ETA received via email thus authorizing the visitor’s entry into the country. The airports where one could get their ETA stamped are Bangalore, Chennai, Kochi, Delhi, Goa, Hyderabad, Kolkata, Mumbai, and Trivandrum.

India Tourist Visa on Arrival with ETA: What you need to know

  • International travelers whose sole objective of visiting India is recreation, sightseeing, casual visit to meet friends or relatives, short-duration medical treatment, or casual business visits.
  • A passport should have at least six months’ validity
  • International travelers should have a return ticket or onward journey ticket, with sufficient money to spend during his/her stay in India
  • International travelers having a Pakistani Passport or Pakistani origin may please apply for a regular Visa at Indian MissionNot available to Diplomatic/Official Passport Holders.