One of the best luxury trains of India, Maharajas’ Express has added another feather in its cap. It has bagged the award for ‘World’s Leading Luxury Train’ at the coveted World Travel Award 2016. The train has won this honor fifth time in a row at the 23rd World Travel Awards Grand Final Gala Ceremony 2016.  The event was organized on 2nd December at The Sun Siyam Iru Fushi, Noonu Atoll in Republic of Maldives.

The award for World’s leading luxury train is given to that luxury train, which offers impeccable hospitality, world-class experiences, and meticulous journeys to its guests. Maharajas’ Express lets its guests a journey like the erstwhile royalty of India, amid modern comforts. This Indian luxury train has been the winner in the category of ‘World’s Leading Luxury Train’, five times continuously, in 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015 and 2016.

The other nominees in the category of World’s Leading Luxury Train 2016 were Andean Explorer, Belmond Hiram Bingham, Deccan Odyssey, Eastern & Oriental Express, Rocky Mountaineer- GoldLeaf Service, Royal Canadian Pacific, The Blue Train, The Golden Chariot, Tren Crucero and Venice Simplon Orient-Express.

Maharajas’ Express started its journey in the year 2010 and since then it has been favored all across the globe for its journeys, experiences and services. The train has 23 coaches as accommodation, dining venues, souvenir shop, bar, generator, lounge, store cars etc. The accommodation are well-equipped with all the contemporary comforts like Wi-Fi, satellite television, air-conditioner, attached bathroom and so on. There is a water filtration plant too. The décor of the train is opulent and rich.

Offering 6 pan-Indian journeys (Heritage of India, Treasures of India, Gems of India, Indian Panorama, Jewels of India, and Indian Splendor), it divides it itineraries into options of 8 Days/ 7 Nights and 4 Days/ 3 Nights. The tour packages include visit to some of the popular Indian destinations including Jaipur, Agra, Varanasi, Ranthambore, Lucknow, Jodhpur, Aurangabad, Bikaner, Gwalior, Udaipur and Khajuraho.