+44 20 3239 0008
+91-9811204347
+ 61 28 205 3100
+ 1 803 768 3100
Overview Reviews Photo Gallery Booking Request

The Golden Chariot

Destinations Covered: Bangalore - Chennai - Mahabalipuram - Pondicherry - Thanjavur - Madurai - Thiruvananthapuram - Alleppey - Kochi - Bangalore

Overall Train Rating
4/5

Rating 4 Based on 5 reviews

Rating Summary
  • Itinerary
  • Accommodation
  • Food & Beverage
  • Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value For Money
Rate according to your satisfaction level
Excellent
3
Very good
0
Average
1
Poor
1
Terrible
0
See reviews for

  • Families .....................1
  • Couples .....................1
  • Friends .....................2
  • Business .....................0

2/5

most disappointing

By: , United Kingdom on 24 Jan, 2017

we travelled on this train in 2009 and we had the most awesome time - hence repeating the trip. the entire trip from beginning to end was disaster - late everywhere - train is outdated - there were so many cost cutting noticed on this trip. this was more a coach trip than a luxury train journey. seems they have been taken over by the maple hotel group - NOT GOOD !!! practically everyday lunch was at a 3 star hotel - where as we have paid for 5 star. why eat out anyway !!! no entertainment on board at nights - most night we arrived back so late - no time to change and dress up for dinner !!! cannot recommend this trip to anyone. this was a retirement present for my husband - TOTALLY DISAPPOINTING !!!

Guest's rating for this train
  • Itinerary
  • Accommodation
  • Food & Beverage
  • Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value For Money
Facilities present on board?
  • Restaurant: Yes
  • Spa and Gymnasium: Yes
  • Business Centre: Yes
  • High Speed Internet: No
  • Souvenir Shop: No
  • Butler Service: Yes
  • Laundry service: Not Sure
  • Tour Guides No

Date of Journey: 01-09-17

Recommended to friends/acquaintance: no

+ Read More

5/5

best part of our trip

By: , United States on 12 Jul, 2016

we loved our trip on the Luxury train, the Golden Chariot. The memories are just a dream, I'd go back to india to do that trip again and I tell everyone is was just wonderful. Like going back in time and seeing places rarely seen by tourists or even wealthy indians. Its a lifetime must! The food, the FOOD! the staff the train it was all amazing.

Guest's rating for this train
  • Itinerary
  • Accommodation
  • Food & Beverage
  • Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value For Money
Facilities present on board?
  • Restaurant: Yes
  • Spa and Gymnasium: Not Sure
  • Business Centre: Yes
  • High Speed Internet: Not Sure
  • Souvenir Shop: No
  • Butler Service: Yes
  • Laundry service: Yes
  • Tour Guides Yes

Date of Journey: 12-21-14

Recommended to friends/acquaintance: yes

+ Read More

5/5

Excellent service, food, touring

By: , Canada on 13 Mar, 2014

Staff were exceptionally attentive, interested in providing the best friendly competent service. Food was prepared fresh on the train and was varied and flavourful. Both Indian and Western food were available. I have a food allergy and staff were very conscientious in providing appropriate food choices. Tours were well organized, informative, varied in length, and were professionally conducted, never rushed.

Guest's rating for this train
  • Itinerary
  • Accommodation
  • Food & Beverage
  • Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value For Money
Facilities present on board?
  • Restaurant: Yes
  • Spa and Gymnasium: Yes
  • Business Centre: Yes
  • High Speed Internet: Yes
  • Souvenir Shop: Yes
  • Butler Service: Yes
  • Laundry service: Yes
  • Tour Guides Yes

Date of Journey: 01-27-14

Recommended to friends/acquaintance: yes

+ Read More

5/5

Very Beautiful

By: , India on 03 Feb, 2012

Thanks And No Comments

Guest's rating for this train
  • Itinerary
  • Accommodation
  • Food & Beverage
  • Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value For Money
Facilities present on board?
  • Restaurant: Yes
  • Spa and Gymnasium: Yes
  • Business Centre: Yes
  • High Speed Internet: Yes
  • Souvenir Shop: Yes
  • Butler Service: Yes
  • Laundry service: Yes
  • Tour Guides Yes

Date of Journey: 05-23-11

Recommended to friends/acquaintance: yes

+ Read More

3/5

A most amazing trip

By: , United Kingdom on 11 Oct, 2011

I travelled on the Golden Chariot in January 2010 and it was one of the most satisfying journeys I ever had! The food was absolutely delicious and the staff are very helpful and, genuinely, nothing is too much trouble for them. . The only critical point may-be the overpriced beer and other alcoholic drinks. They are really expensive. Air conditioning is a problem though. Would have been much better had they provided individual climate control. As far as itinerary goes I enjoyed it thoroughly. Hampi and Hospet were my personal fave. Indeed VERY comfortable way of touring South India and visiting the amazing sights

Guest's rating for this train
  • Itinerary
  • Accommodation
  • Food & Beverage
  • Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value For Money
Facilities present on board?
  • Restaurant: Yes
  • Spa and Gymnasium: Yes
  • Business Centre: Yes
  • High Speed Internet: Not Sure
  • Souvenir Shop: No
  • Butler Service: Yes
  • Laundry service: Not Sure
  • Tour Guides Yes

Date of Journey: 11-08-10

Recommended to friends/acquaintance: yes

+ Read More

Stay in the Know

Get the latest news and best offers on your favorite luxury train, straight to your inbox by subscribing to our newsletter here.

© 2017 Indian Luxury Trains. All rights reserved. No part of this site may be reproduced without our written permission.