Search

Reservations

Login

Royal Rajasthan on Wheels

Destinations Covered: Delhi - Jodhpur - Udaipur - Chittorgarh - Sawai Madhopur - Jaipur - Khajuraho - Varanasi - Agra - Delhi

Overall Train Rating
Overall Train Rating
3.5/5
Rating 3.5 Based on 10 reviews
Rating summary
  • Itinerary
  • Accommodation
  • Food & Beverage
  • Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value For Money
Rate according to your satisfaction level
Excellent
2
Very good
3
Average
3
Poor
1
Terrible
0

Great way to see so much


By: Eric Massie, United States on 28 Apr, 2014

My wife and I took this train after a suggestion from some friends; we were not let down. You see some truly amazing things in India while always being ushered to the front of any line. The food on the train was very good, although the breakfast gets a little repetitive by the end. The accommodations were very nice; much like a cruise ship's cabin. You will know you are on a train, but, you are on a train. We had a really great time and would suggest it to anyone wanting to meet interesting people, go amazing places, and enjoy a great part of India.

Guest's rating for this train
  • Itinerary
  • Accommodation
  • Food & Beverage
  • Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value for Money
Facilities present on board?
  • Restaurant : Yes
  • Spa and Gymnasium : Yes
  • Business Centre : Yes
  • High Speed Internet : No
  • Souvenir Shop : No
  • Butler Service : Yes
  • Laundry service: Yes
  • Tour Guides : Yes
Date of Journey: 12-29-13
Recommended to friends/acquaintance: yes

+ Read More

FEBRUARY 2014


By: zeynep turkeri, Turkey on 26 Feb, 2014

We think it was excellent comfortable way to discover

Guest's rating for this train
  • Itinerary
  • Accommodation
  • Food & Beverage
  • Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value for Money
Facilities present on board?
  • Restaurant : Yes
  • Spa and Gymnasium : Yes
  • Business Centre : Yes
  • High Speed Internet : Yes
  • Souvenir Shop : Yes
  • Butler Service : Yes
  • Laundry service: Yes
  • Tour Guides : Yes
Date of Journey: 11-09-13
Recommended to friends/acquaintance: yes

+ Read More

Train journey


By: arun agrawal, United States on 24 Feb, 2014

It was spectacular! Staff, all of them, were very pleasant and personable. They were always very attentive and responsive to our needs - be it on the train or our local tours. The officials accompanied us to all the tours and made sure that we were well taken care of.

Guest's rating for this train
  • Itinerary
  • Accommodation
  • Food & Beverage
  • Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value for Money
Facilities present on board?
  • Restaurant : Yes
  • Spa and Gymnasium : Yes
  • Business Centre : Yes
  • High Speed Internet : Yes
  • Souvenir Shop : Yes
  • Butler Service : Yes
  • Laundry service: Yes
  • Tour Guides : Yes
Date of Journey: 01-05-14
Recommended to friends/acquaintance: yes

+ Read More

Not worth the money!


By: Bela Dhillon, United States on 17 Feb, 2014

Most bothersome was the noise and shakiness of the train, was unable to sleep restfully at night for the whole week. Itinerary was very exhaustive with long breaks mostly at nights, then too it was not possible to rest due to noise, shaking and constant horn of the train. Most time was spent outside the train during daytime. Sightseeing was great with excellent guides. Also, during that period, almost daily, we were taken to businesses which tried to loot money from innocent foreigners by overcharging merchandise, providing wrong information about products and wrong advertising. Beware customers, please don't waste your hard earned money! Food was average, nothing like Royal. Indian food can be amazing but not here. Security & Service was excellent but that's not worth the money charged.

Guest's rating for this train
  • Itinerary
  • Accommodation
  • Food & Beverage
  • Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value for Money
Facilities present on board?
  • Restaurant : Yes
  • Spa and Gymnasium : Yes
  • Business Centre : Yes
  • High Speed Internet : Not Sure
  • Souvenir Shop : Yes
  • Butler Service : Yes
  • Laundry service: Yes
  • Tour Guides : Yes
Date of Journey: 10-20-13
Recommended to friends/acquaintance: no

+ Read More

Amazing journey in Royal Rajasthan on wheels


By: Rohan, India on 01 Oct, 2013

Royal Rajasthan on wheels is most lavish train provide royal facilities, in 2012 first time I travel in this train, its provide amazing facilities like Deluxe saloon, Delicious cuisine, Laundry, liquor, branded beverages and personalized services. It’s my memorable journey I am very happy with my first tour.

Guest's rating for this train
  • Itinerary
  • Accommodation
  • Food & Beverage
  • Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value for Money
Facilities present on board?
  • Restaurant :
  • Spa and Gymnasium : Yes
  • Business Centre :
  • High Speed Internet : Yes
  • Souvenir Shop :
  • Butler Service : Yes
  • Laundry service:
  • Tour Guides : Yes
Date of Journey: 10-12-12
Recommended to friends/acquaintance: yes

+ Read More

Disappointing


By: Jonathan Strauss, Australia on 16 Feb, 2013

The itinerary for this particualr trip was the best all all we looked at. However it is very misleading and you do not actually get to go to Varanasi proper - only a boat trip on the Ganges - extremely disappointing especially as it such a long journey to get there and the fact that it is almost impossible to sleep while the train is moving because of the violent rocking (every night). Other than that there is too much enforced 'shopping' .

Guest's rating for this train
  • Itinerary
  • Accommodation
  • Food & Beverage
  • Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value for Money
Facilities present on board?
  • Restaurant : Yes
  • Spa and Gymnasium : Yes
  • Business Centre : Not Sure
  • High Speed Internet : No
  • Souvenir Shop : Not Sure
  • Butler Service : No
  • Laundry service: Not Sure
  • Tour Guides : Yes
Date of Journey: 01-12-13
Recommended to friends/acquaintance: no

+ Read More

Simply Incredible!


By: William Parente, United States on 15 Feb, 2013

It was my first visit to India, but my wife had traveled there about 20 years ago and was able to compare then with now. The trip was absolutely fabulous, as advertised. The nature of the journey took all of the arduousness out the task. The itinerary was magical. We experienced all the sights, sounds and smells of India, but were well taken care of and comfortable most of the way. I would say that the only thing that we had to get used to was the rocking of the train at certain speeds and in certain areas. Sometimes it was enough to keep you awake. Outside of that, everything went like clockwork, all needs were attended to, the guides at each location were quite good, and the organizers anticipated virtually all the problems that could happen on an excursion such as this. Although we have spent a lot of time working, living and traveling abroad, both my wife and I agree this was a trip of a lifetime.

Guest's rating for this train
  • Itinerary
  • Accommodation
  • Food & Beverage
  • Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value for Money
Facilities present on board?
  • Restaurant : Yes
  • Spa and Gymnasium : Yes
  • Business Centre : Yes
  • High Speed Internet : No
  • Souvenir Shop : No
  • Butler Service : Yes
  • Laundry service: Yes
  • Tour Guides : Yes
Date of Journey: 10-21-12
Recommended to friends/acquaintance: yes

+ Read More

Extra Ordinary Train Experience in India if Nor par Excellence


By: Anthony Fau, New Zealand on 02 Feb, 2013

An delightful mix of temples, forts and stunning palaces in Rajasthan, the journey sometimes gets a bit tiring as you rush through one destination after another on this 8 days tour on what was told to us by staff is the "New and Modern version of Palace on Wheels". The food is good and so is the decor. Red carpet welcome is one of the highlights at every destinations. The most exasperating thing is the overdose of shopping. Overall a good experience but need to be more refined and "luxurious" as en suite entertainment and individual climate controls is not present in all accommodation type. And a bit more cleanliness would be a great improvement.

Guest's rating for this train
  • Itinerary
  • Accommodation
  • Food & Beverage
  • Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value for Money
Facilities present on board?
  • Restaurant : Yes
  • Spa and Gymnasium : Yes
  • Business Centre : No
  • High Speed Internet : Yes
  • Souvenir Shop : No
  • Butler Service : Yes
  • Laundry service: Not Sure
  • Tour Guides : Yes
Date of Journey: 12-30-12
Recommended to friends/acquaintance: yes

+ Read More

Great Value for Money


By: Alice Walker, Germany on 30 Nov, 2011

Royal Rajasthan on Wheels journey is an adventure to be savored, a trip back in time. Silk bedspreads in your cabin, nicely done dark wood, nice artwork and private bathroom-kept immaculate, what else is to be expected in a train touted to be one of the most luxurious trains in India.

But then as everywhere else in India, food could use more variety's a certain Indian style of rich cooking which is common even in Continental or Chinese cuisines served in India.

Staff's great and getting a train to arrive on time at all destinations and be met by tour coaches and guides without any delays must be a major achievement and is a credit to the team.

Camel ride in the desert were great fun, but actually seeing a tigress in the wild in Ranthambore was lucky indeed. If you have the money, and interested in seeing India, do it, you wont be sorry. If you have ever driven through India, you know this is the best way.

Guest's rating for this train
  • Itinerary
  • Accommodation
  • Food & Beverage
  • Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value for Money
Facilities present on board?
  • Restaurant : Yes
  • Spa and Gymnasium : No
  • Business Centre : No
  • High Speed Internet : Yes
  • Souvenir Shop : No
  • Butler Service : Yes
  • Laundry service: Yes
  • Tour Guides : Yes
Date of Journey: 10-30-11
Recommended to friends/acquaintance: yes

+ Read More

Aye for this royal ride


By: Harren Lee, US on 21 Apr, 2011

Royal Rajasthan is Royal tries to capture the essence of Rajputana culture in its ambience and service. Even as we began our journey, the very welcome was a kind of reassurance that indeed we are to witness a regal ride as did the maharajas of Rajasthan in the days of yore.

The decor endeavor its best to recreate the elegance of royal palaces of Rajasthan but then there is only so much space to display the bygone pageantry. Staff is gracious and offer spotless service and make sure that nothing goes amiss. The shortcoming of 5 star luxuries is commendably accounted for by the humbling hospitality. Even the guides we met at several destinations were competent enough to offer illuminating insights of the places we went visiting.

On the dining front the train is above average. There are two restaurants on the train - Sheesh Mahal and Swarn Mahal - trying to recreate the medieval splendor of Rajasthani Rajput princes. Although menu was limited the variety of cuisine was enough to cater to the platter of the varied mlange of guests.

The itinerary was good although it grew a bit monotonous after seeing scores of fortresses. But then, what else could I have expected on a Royal Rajasthan journey? We saw some resplendent landmarks standing tall and some in ruins standing testimony to the rich heritage which is so iconic of Rajasthan. To add to variety were the wildlife and desert safari which definitely won many a heart.

I’d definitely give an aœ Aye” to this train as it is a welcome retreat from the otherwise arduous travel experience in India which can be so harrowing due to the abundance of touts who try their best to get on to your nerves (and purse), shabby infrastructure and long journey time. The best part of the journey on board this luxury train is that you wake up every morning at a new destination and new wonders to explore and also get to see the myriad colors of this diverse country even as you travel on board.

Guest's rating for this train
  • Itinerary
  • Accommodation
  • Food & Beverage
  • Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value for Money
Facilities present on board?
  • Restaurant : Yes
  • Spa and Gymnasium : Yes
  • Business Centre : Yes
  • High Speed Internet : Yes
  • Souvenir Shop : Yes
  • Butler Service : Yes
  • Laundry service: Yes
  • Tour Guides : Yes
Date of Journey: 01-11-09
Recommended to friends/acquaintance: yes

+ Read More

RSS Feeds | Resources | About us | Terms & Conditions | Contact Us | FAQs | Blog
© 2014 Indian Luxury Trains. All rights reserved. No part of this site may be reproduced without our written permission.