+44 20 3239 0008
+91-9811204347
Overview Reviews Photo Gallery Booking Request

Maharajas Express

Destinations Covered: Delhi - Agra - Ranthambore - Jaipur - Delhi

Overall Train Rating
4.5/5

Rating 4.5 Based on 22 reviews

Rating Summary
  • Itinerary
  • Accommodation
  • Food & Beverage
  • Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value For Money
Rate according to your satisfaction level
Excellent
13
Very good
9
Average
0
Poor
0
Terrible
0
See reviews for

  • Families .....................2
  • Couples .....................13
  • Friends .....................7
  • Business .....................0

5/5

Journey in Maharajas Express

By: , New Caledonia on 05 Feb, 2017

Fabulous, I said all with overall rating

Guest's rating for this train
  • Itinerary
  • Accommodation
  • Food & Beverage
  • Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value For Money
Facilities present on board?
  • Restaurant: Yes
  • Spa and Gymnasium: No
  • Business Centre: No
  • High Speed Internet: Yes
  • Souvenir Shop: Yes
  • Butler Service: Yes
  • Laundry service: Yes
  • Tour Guides Yes

Date of Journey: 12-10-16

Recommended to friends/acquaintance: yes

+ Read More

5/5

Excellent Journey

By: , United States on 05 Feb, 2017

This was an excellent trip. Everything was more than our expectations.

Guest's rating for this train
  • Itinerary
  • Accommodation
  • Food & Beverage
  • Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value For Money
Facilities present on board?
  • Restaurant: Yes
  • Spa and Gymnasium: No
  • Business Centre: No
  • High Speed Internet: Yes
  • Souvenir Shop: Yes
  • Butler Service: Yes
  • Laundry service: Yes
  • Tour Guides Yes

Date of Journey: 12-03-16

Recommended to friends/acquaintance: yes

+ Read More

4/5

Its a train not a hotel, beds shake bring sleeping pills.

By: , Canada on 30 Jan, 2017

Great tour, First class all the way. As to the value for money, well for the exact same price I toured South India with my wife on a private tour by Le Passage to India Company . That included 3 meals a days for two, first class hotels ( 4 or 5 stars), A private guide and chauffeur that stayed with us for the 3 weeks (21 full days) in an air conditioned vehicle. That gives an idea of what you can get for the price of a week on the maharaja express. Other then that it was majestic and excellent.

Guest's rating for this train
  • Itinerary
  • Accommodation
  • Food & Beverage
  • Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value For Money
Facilities present on board?
  • Restaurant: Yes
  • Spa and Gymnasium: No
  • Business Centre: Yes
  • High Speed Internet: Yes
  • Souvenir Shop: Yes
  • Butler Service: Yes
  • Laundry service: Yes
  • Tour Guides Yes

Date of Journey: 11-27-16

Recommended to friends/acquaintance: yes

+ Read More

5/5

Fabulous journey

By: , United States on 17 Jan, 2017

This is the BEST way to see India!! - it's like a cruise ship on rails: you unpack once, had our own private accommodations with bathroom, everything was included (except tipping), 2 dining rooms, 2 lounges, a game room, excursions daily, transportation per the itinerary, great staff/guides/drivers, and our butler was the frosting on the cake!! We were treated like royalty. We saw so much and went to so many places we wouldn't have had we been on our own. There is so much history and India has such a diverse culture that one really needs a guide to explain it all - excellent job! This was a most memorable trip - AND......the last night on board was awesome as we dressed in sari's for the women and typical Indian costume for the men and we danced Bollywood style - had a fabulous time. Thank you so much for the experience!!

Guest's rating for this train
  • Itinerary
  • Accommodation
  • Food & Beverage
  • Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value For Money
Facilities present on board?
  • Restaurant: Yes
  • Spa and Gymnasium: No
  • Business Centre: No
  • High Speed Internet: Yes
  • Souvenir Shop: No
  • Butler Service: Yes
  • Laundry service: Yes
  • Tour Guides Yes

Date of Journey: 11-05-16

Recommended to friends/acquaintance: yes

+ Read More

4/5

A trip of a life time fulfilled in 8 days

By: , Australia on 12 Jan, 2017

We were excited about the journey having read where we were going and a little about the train. We were not disappointed and I constantly describe this journey as a trip of a lifetime that should not be missed. There were 40 passengers on the train, which had accommodation cars, 2 restaurant cars and 2 lounge cars. We opted for the cheapest accommodation - a queen size bed with ensuite and this was very comfortable for our stay as when we were not in bed we were in the restaurant or lounge or on a tour. We were greeted on arrival by flowers, red carpet and a band and this continued each day going on or off the train there were always flowers, red carpet, the train crew lined up to send us off or on the train and a band or dancers, camels or musicians. We really felt like royalty. We had a fabulous butler who went out of his way to make sure we were comfortable. Each day he asked the time we wanted woken, telephoned at that time and brought green tea along to refresh us. He decorated our room for my birthday and I will always recall the effort he went to. The tours each day were fabulous. My most memorable was the camel drawn carts into the dessert for a moon lit dinner and seeing the Tai Mahal. But so many other opportunities that it was hard to decide on the best part of the journey. The food was fantastic - always amazing Indian but plenty of Western food to chose from if Indian was not want you desire on the day. The chef enquired each day if there was something we wanted and checked to make sure we were enjoying the food. The only downside of the journey was the challenge of sleeping due to the train travelling often at high speed throughout the night therefore tossing us around the bed and room and stops at stations where there was always noise. On our first night only 1 person from 40 slept. Wise people took sleeping tablets on the second night. Would I do this journey again - most definitely it was an amazing experience and the Indian night where we were all dressed in saris (women) and male indian clothes for the men and then the treat of bollywood dancing by the staff and passengers brought many smiles to our faces. I suspect this journey was one of the best as the history including the amazing buildings we got to see were often breath taking. Congratulations to the management and the staff as they work really hard to make sure passengers enjoy the journey.

Guest's rating for this train
  • Itinerary
  • Accommodation
  • Food & Beverage
  • Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value For Money
Facilities present on board?
  • Restaurant: Yes
  • Spa and Gymnasium: No
  • Business Centre: No
  • High Speed Internet: No
  • Souvenir Shop: Yes
  • Butler Service: Yes
  • Laundry service: Yes
  • Tour Guides Yes

Date of Journey: 11-19-16

Recommended to friends/acquaintance: yes

+ Read More

5/5

Journey in Maharajas Express

By: , New Caledonia on 03 Jan, 2017

Nothing special to add. It was excellent. Fabuleux souvenirs

Guest's rating for this train
  • Itinerary
  • Accommodation
  • Food & Beverage
  • Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value For Money
Facilities present on board?
  • Restaurant: Yes
  • Spa and Gymnasium: No
  • Business Centre: No
  • High Speed Internet: Yes
  • Souvenir Shop: Yes
  • Butler Service: Yes
  • Laundry service: Yes
  • Tour Guides Yes

Date of Journey: 12-10-16

Recommended to friends/acquaintance: yes

+ Read More

5/5

Pretend you are spending your kids' money and do it!

By: , United Kingdom on 31 Dec, 2016

Totally magical 7 day experience. Staff, food, service, bars, restaurants, trips, travel experience the best you will ever experience. We got lucky as only 10 couples and 60 staff. Every day was an adventure, every evening was like a country house party. BRILLIANT and this review does not do the experience justice.

Guest's rating for this train
  • Itinerary
  • Accommodation
  • Food & Beverage
  • Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value For Money
Facilities present on board?
  • Restaurant: Yes
  • Spa and Gymnasium: No
  • Business Centre: No
  • High Speed Internet: Yes
  • Souvenir Shop: No
  • Butler Service: Yes
  • Laundry service: Yes
  • Tour Guides Yes

Date of Journey: 12-03-16

Recommended to friends/acquaintance: yes

+ Read More

4/5

Maharajas Express - Best Way for Luxury Travel

By: , United Kingdom on 22 Aug, 2016

Nothing beats a good holiday when it comes to enjoyment, especially when you get to travel in a luxurious train and visit exciting places. Maharajas’ Express has really redefined luxury travel with its well-planned tour circuits and world-class facilities ranging from comfortable twin beds and temperature control in bedroom cabins to the delicious food in the two restaurants and the exquisite range of drinks in its two bars. I consider myself lucky to travel in this amazing train. Furthermore, it took me to a number of excellent places in India where I got the chance to explore its vast heritage.

Guest's rating for this train
  • Itinerary
  • Accommodation
  • Food & Beverage
  • Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value For Money
Facilities present on board?
  • Restaurant: Yes
  • Spa and Gymnasium: Yes
  • Business Centre: Not Sure
  • High Speed Internet: Yes
  • Souvenir Shop: Yes
  • Butler Service: Not Sure
  • Laundry service: Not Sure
  • Tour Guides Yes

Date of Journey: 12-18-15

Recommended to friends/acquaintance: yes

+ Read More

4/5

Unforgettable Moment with Maharajas Express

By: , Australia on 10 Mar, 2016

Traveling through the beautiful parts of India was incredible with Maharajas Express

Guest's rating for this train
  • Itinerary
  • Accommodation
  • Food & Beverage
  • Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value For Money
Facilities present on board?
  • Restaurant: Yes
  • Spa and Gymnasium: No
  • Business Centre: Not Sure
  • High Speed Internet: Yes
  • Souvenir Shop: Yes
  • Butler Service: Yes
  • Laundry service: Not Sure
  • Tour Guides Yes

Date of Journey: 10-07-15

Recommended to friends/acquaintance: yes

+ Read More

5/5

Best trip ever

By: , United States on 30 Jan, 2016

My week long trip on the Maharajas Express was incredible. Travelling with 3 girlfriends, the service, food, excursions were all impeccable. This is the only way to see India. We especially became fond of the chef, John Stone. Don't think I have ever met a more friendly, gracious soul.

Guest's rating for this train
  • Itinerary
  • Accommodation
  • Food & Beverage
  • Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value For Money
Facilities present on board?
  • Restaurant: Yes
  • Spa and Gymnasium: No
  • Business Centre: No
  • High Speed Internet: Yes
  • Souvenir Shop: Yes
  • Butler Service: Yes
  • Laundry service: Yes
  • Tour Guides Yes

Date of Journey: 01-16-16

Recommended to friends/acquaintance: yes

+ Read More

4/5

Luxury Journey

By: , United States on 28 Aug, 2015

Maharajas's Express is undoubtedly the best means to travel and explore the cultural heritage of India. Its world-class facilities make the journey luxurious, exciting and comfortable.

Guest's rating for this train
  • Itinerary
  • Accommodation
  • Food & Beverage
  • Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value For Money
Facilities present on board?
  • Restaurant:
  • Spa and Gymnasium:
  • Business Centre:
  • High Speed Internet:
  • Souvenir Shop:
  • Butler Service:
  • Laundry service:
  • Tour Guides

Date of Journey: 05-15-15

Recommended to friends/acquaintance: yes

+ Read More

5/5

Best Ever Holiday

By: , Australia on 21 Mar, 2015

My wife and I travelled on the Maharajas Express and it was a fantastic experience. Everything right from the moment we boarded the train till the tour concluded it was a superb trip. Staff of the train were amazing and service just great. Will definitely recommend this luxury train tour which is at par with the likes of Rovos and Orient Express.

Guest's rating for this train
  • Itinerary
  • Accommodation
  • Food & Beverage
  • Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value For Money
Facilities present on board?
  • Restaurant: Yes
  • Spa and Gymnasium: No
  • Business Centre: No
  • High Speed Internet: Yes
  • Souvenir Shop: Yes
  • Butler Service: Yes
  • Laundry service: Yes
  • Tour Guides Yes

Date of Journey: 03-21-15

Recommended to friends/acquaintance: yes

+ Read More

4/5

Why would you travel any other way

By: , United Kingdom on 05 Jun, 2014

Choosing to travel Maharajas was such a good decision. Me and my wife felt this had improved the whole experience.

Guest's rating for this train
  • Itinerary
  • Accommodation
  • Food & Beverage
  • Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value For Money
Facilities present on board?
  • Restaurant: No
  • Spa and Gymnasium: No
  • Business Centre: No
  • High Speed Internet: Yes
  • Souvenir Shop: Yes
  • Butler Service: Yes
  • Laundry service: No
  • Tour Guides Yes

Date of Journey: 05-04-14

Recommended to friends/acquaintance: yes

+ Read More

4/5

Gems of India Tour

By: , United Kingdom on 18 Dec, 2013

An enjoyable few days with great sightseeing and tours. The accommodation is a little basic and the standard rooms very small. The staff are excellent and vey helpful.

Guest's rating for this train
  • Itinerary
  • Accommodation
  • Food & Beverage
  • Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value For Money
Facilities present on board?
  • Restaurant: Yes
  • Spa and Gymnasium: No
  • Business Centre: No
  • High Speed Internet: No
  • Souvenir Shop: Not Sure
  • Butler Service: Yes
  • Laundry service: Yes
  • Tour Guides Yes

Date of Journey: 10-02-13

Recommended to friends/acquaintance: yes

+ Read More

5/5

Outstanding service

By: , United Kingdom on 18 Dec, 2013

The service was that really made it for us - it was faultless. Truly delightful staff. The accommodation was of a very high standard and the food and wine (indian and remarkably palatable) was good. Our only criticism was with the itinerary.

The places we visited were fascinating but, for example, having visited the Taj Mahal early in the morning we were given breakfast in a very average (and not at all comparable) hotel that was a waste of time and not as good as had we returned to the train. We would have liked to have spent more time travelling on the train during the day when we could have seen the Indian countryside.

The overall pace of the tours was too laid back and less time could have been spent at each destination thus allowing for more places to be visited. That said, we would go on the Maharaja's Express again bout next time on the longer trip to Mumbai.

Guest's rating for this train
  • Itinerary
  • Accommodation
  • Food & Beverage
  • Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value For Money
Facilities present on board?
  • Restaurant: Yes
  • Spa and Gymnasium: No
  • Business Centre: No
  • High Speed Internet: No
  • Souvenir Shop: Yes
  • Butler Service: Yes
  • Laundry service: Yes
  • Tour Guides Yes

Date of Journey: 10-01-13

Recommended to friends/acquaintance: yes

+ Read More

4/5

A Maharaja Experience Indeed!

By: , Australia on 16 Oct, 2013

This was one of the best trips we have done.We did experience the life of a Maharajah. The private residences we visited were only possible through The Maharajah Express contacts. One of many highlights was the visit to The Nawab of Lucknows" home. We were graciously received and could see what some good and influential people were doing for the India of the future. Everyday was an amazing treat and if travellers don"t take this opportunity,it is their loss. We loved this trip.

Guest's rating for this train
  • Itinerary
  • Accommodation
  • Food & Beverage
  • Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value For Money
Facilities present on board?
  • Restaurant: Yes
  • Spa and Gymnasium: Not Sure
  • Business Centre: Not Sure
  • High Speed Internet: Not Sure
  • Souvenir Shop: Not Sure
  • Butler Service: Yes
  • Laundry service: Not Sure
  • Tour Guides Yes

Date of Journey: 11-16-12

Recommended to friends/acquaintance: yes

+ Read More

5/5

Was Amazing Journey With Maharaja

By: , India on 12 Sep, 2013

I did make a journey with maharaja on July it was fantastic journey I have ever. I did lots of fun and enjoy with friends during journey. Over all I would like to rated good. I got offers hotels and travel booking that means I got offer package from Indian Luxury Train. I got one problem during journey that was communication and internet problem. Thanks

Guest's rating for this train
  • Itinerary
  • Accommodation
  • Food & Beverage
  • Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value For Money
Facilities present on board?
  • Restaurant: Yes
  • Spa and Gymnasium: Not Sure
  • Business Centre: Not Sure
  • High Speed Internet: No
  • Souvenir Shop: Yes
  • Butler Service: Yes
  • Laundry service: Yes
  • Tour Guides Yes

Date of Journey: 07-16-13

Recommended to friends/acquaintance: yes

+ Read More

5/5

Maharajas Express

By: , Germany on 03 Apr, 2013

Only way to travel through the monumental highlights of India.

Guest's rating for this train
  • Itinerary
  • Accommodation
  • Food & Beverage
  • Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value For Money
Facilities present on board?
  • Restaurant: Yes
  • Spa and Gymnasium: No
  • Business Centre: Not Sure
  • High Speed Internet: No
  • Souvenir Shop: Yes
  • Butler Service: Yes
  • Laundry service: Yes
  • Tour Guides Yes

Date of Journey: 04-10-12

Recommended to friends/acquaintance: yes

+ Read More

5/5

Dream of Rajasthan

By: , on 21 Feb, 2013

All in all a wonderful experience. Everything was well organized with many highlights . Due to the busy itinerary we had too little time to sozialize with other passengers. We had a Junior Suite with stylish interior, a very good bed and all amenities you could ask for on such a journey. Oue butler was just sweet, allways available and catering to all our needs. Food was excellent for train cuisine. The Chef went out of his way to provide specialities not on the menu. Excusrsions were very well organized and executed. This train compares well with other luxury trains such as the Eastern and Orient Express and the Orient Express.

Guest's rating for this train
  • Itinerary
  • Accommodation
  • Food & Beverage
  • Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value For Money
Facilities present on board?
  • Restaurant: Yes
  • Spa and Gymnasium: No
  • Business Centre: No
  • High Speed Internet: Yes
  • Souvenir Shop: Not Sure
  • Butler Service: Yes
  • Laundry service: Yes
  • Tour Guides Yes

Date of Journey: 01-19-13

Recommended to friends/acquaintance: yes

+ Read More

5/5

Fabulous Maharaja Express

By: , United States on 14 Dec, 2012

This was an amazing experience. We actually took our 12 year old twin boys who are quite used to international travel and they too had an amazing time. The staff was attentive and very friendly. The train is luxurious and a great way to see India. Overall there is no way we could have seen such a vibrant country in such a comfortable manner. We would do it again without hesitation.

Guest's rating for this train
  • Itinerary
  • Accommodation
  • Food & Beverage
  • Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value For Money
Facilities present on board?
  • Restaurant: Yes
  • Spa and Gymnasium: Not Sure
  • Business Centre: Not Sure
  • High Speed Internet: Not Sure
  • Souvenir Shop: Yes
  • Butler Service: Yes
  • Laundry service: Yes
  • Tour Guides Yes

Date of Journey: 02-21-17

Recommended to friends/acquaintance: yes

+ Read More

4/5

A most wonderful experience of royal aspect of India

By: , Australia on 21 Jul, 2011

I traveled on Maharaja Express (Royal India) last October and it will definitely rate it as a world class rail journey 's“ although mixed with a little hiccups. But with the benefit of hindsight they were nothing as compared to normal train traveling or just traveling in India.

The train is definitely one of the most luxurious vessels which I have ever ridden in. Expectations, I know, tend to disappoint but this train journey was mostly upto mark in delivering all that was promised. Special mention is definitely deserved when it comes to the service and staff. Facilities were up to date and even the sleeping part is way much comfortable than usual train journey.

Eating which is a thing of concern in India was taken care of in a fabulous way. Dining was mostly arranged at various 5 star heritage hotels. Imagine a royal lunch in Lake Palace's loved it completely. Besides even the food quality on board was above average. Best part was eating in the restaurants on board. Stylish decor and wares and suave ambience too.

One of the problems was excessive shopping options and another one is long breaks in luxury hotels when all you want is hop in your cabin and relax. They should do something about this. Otherwise selection of destinations is good and with facilities and service to match the best this one is a truly wonderful ride.

Guest's rating for this train
  • Itinerary
  • Accommodation
  • Food & Beverage
  • Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value For Money
Facilities present on board?
  • Restaurant: Yes
  • Spa and Gymnasium: No
  • Business Centre: Yes
  • High Speed Internet: Yes
  • Souvenir Shop: Yes
  • Butler Service: Yes
  • Laundry service: Yes
  • Tour Guides Yes

Date of Journey: 11-06-10

Recommended to friends/acquaintance: yes

+ Read More

5/5

A Maharaja indeed in name and spirit

By: , Finland on 16 May, 2011

I was curious and keen to board this train. It is officially described as the India's answer to the Orient Express which again is described by couture specialist Vanity Fair Magazine as the train against which all other luxury train are measured.

The journey on board Maharajas Express promises to unravel the varied tapestry of this majestic landscape. Music, dance and cheerful ladies adorning us with garlands and applying vermillion mark on our forehead as we walked the red carpet mark the ceremonial entrance, a traditional Indian welcome on board the Maharajas Express.

First impression is an important one and for sure I was Impressed. Was I wrong? Here's the summary of my trip This train certainly is a cut above other cruise trains in India in terms of comfort and elegance and even comparable to the top luxury trains plying in different part of the globes.

The train is unarguably luxury with facilities such as LCD TV, internet connectivity, comfortable beds, suave restros and bar and well equipped bathrooms. Destinations covered are truly regal and itinerary which includes not only traveling to royal forts and palaces but meeting and dining with the descendants of erstwhile princes themselves captures a variety of experiences.

The restaurants and bar on board the train is truly 5* when it comes to decor and service offered by the staff and even the variety of cuisines and yes you can savor some mouth watering delicacies prepared by master chefs.

Dining during off train excursion are great and mostly in 5 star heritage hotel. Taj Lake Palace definitely gets a thumbs up.

The fellow travelers gathered from around the globe were another interesting element of the journey so that I couldn't even open the book I was carrying.

Collection of wine and beer is limited and Indian drinks can really give you a culture shock and for foreign brand of liquors and wine you'll have to cough up extra bucks.

Sleeping is the most difficult task but way improved as compared to other cruise trains out here.

The shopping part in œrecommended shops still remains the major dampener of cruise train journey in India.

Do I recommend it? Yes, I definitely do but mind you it's one of the costliest train journeys in the world. What you get is slice of royal forts & palaces, wildlife adventure, camel safari, elephant polo as well as a cultural excursion to village of Bishnois considered to be oldest living environmentalist. If you are short on time not money then this luxury cruise is crafted just for you.

Guest's rating for this train
  • Itinerary
  • Accommodation
  • Food & Beverage
  • Facilities
  • Staff
  • Value For Money
Facilities present on board?
  • Restaurant: Yes
  • Spa and Gymnasium: Yes
  • Business Centre: Yes
  • High Speed Internet: Yes
  • Souvenir Shop: Yes
  • Butler Service: Yes
  • Laundry service: Yes
  • Tour Guides Yes

Date of Journey: 01-30-11

Recommended to friends/acquaintance: yes

+ Read More

Stay in the Know

Get the latest news and best offers on your favorite luxury train, straight to your inbox by subscribing to our newsletter here.

© 2017 Indian Luxury Trains. All rights reserved. No part of this site may be reproduced without our written permission.